Toyota Wins 24 Hours of Le Mans For Fourth Consecutive Year


Toyota Wins 24 Hours of Le Mans For Fourth Consecutive Year

New class, no problem. Toyota has won the 89th running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the fourth consecutive year it has won Le Mans, and in the process scored the first-ever victory in the Hypercar class with its new GR010 Hybrid race car. All of the action of Le Mans for 2021 was once again available exclusively in the U.S. at the MotorTrend App.

The No. 7 car, piloted by Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi, and José María López, was the winning team and were never really threatened, especially after No. 8 Toyota had a scrape with one of the other Hypercar class competitors of the American-based Team Glickenhaus early in the race. This is the first win for the Conway, Kobayashi, López trio after coming in second during their past three Le Mans outings.

Speaking of the American Hypercar effort, the Glickenhaus 007 cars finished fourth and fifth respectively, with the No. 708 car besting the No. 709 car by three laps, 367 to 364 laps respectively. Finishing third was the other Hypercar, the Renault-backed Alpine A480-Gibson driven by André Negrão, Nicolas Lapierrem, and Matthieu Vaxiviere. For the full story, check out this article from Motor Trend.

Link To Article