Action Express Racing Win IMSA at Road America


Action Express Racing Win IMSA at Road America

Action Express Racing’s powers may be returning.

The four-time series champions and two-time Daytona overall winners won just once in 2020, but their duo of Pipo Derani and Felipe Nasr has now won two in a row after a strong showing for their Cadillac DPi. Derani and Nasr led the majority of the race, but only retook the lead in the final 4 minutes of the final stint due to a bold fuel mileage gamble made by Meyer Shank Racing in a desperate bid to find a caution in the closing minutes. They beat out Mazda’s lone entry by just under 2 seconds, with Chip Ganassi Racing’s No. 01 Cadillac completing the podium.

In GTLM, Corvette’s long string of dominance in sprint races came to an end when Matt Campbell stretched the final fuel run for the No. 79 WeatherTech Racing Porsche long enough to finish the race without stopping in the entire final hour. Corvette No. 3 beat Corvette No. 4 for second in the three-car class. For the full story, check out this article from Road & Track.

Link To Article